Tear Down This Wall!

“This wall will fall. Beliefs become reality.”
– Anonymous:
painted on the Berlin wall near the Brandenburg Gate

.2005-07-15-023-1.jpg

Kim left a kind comment concerning my sidebar text yesterday – asking if I wrote poetry. As genuinely flattered as I am by the question, I have never thought of myself as a poet. My attempts at verse are usually more limerick than lay.

When I decided to do this blog I wanted it to be about more than simply the structures and sights within the limits of the federal city. I wanted to show life in DC – from one man’s perspective – in a broader context. I sought to express that through couplets of contrasting elements. As I did so, I began to “feel the metre” – for lack of a better term – in my words and finished it off in a way that seemed to fit. Call it serendipity.

Published in: on August 11, 2006 at 12:08 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dcalongtheway.wordpress.com/2006/08/11/tear-down-this-wall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These pictures are impressive – I especially like Vertigo for the geometry of the perspective. I’ll be sure to return.

  2. Great photo! And the black and white form gave it more character. Oh and goodluck on your poetry too =)

  3. You may call it serendipity, John. I’ll call it poetry even though you seem reluctant to do so. I have a university degree in such things, so, perhaps my opinion on this weighs a tad heavier than yours. ;^)
    This photo is wonderful. I’m loving the perspectives on these recent shots. Vertigo especially, as it visually illustrated the feeling I got when I heard this song lyric in a concert last week: “Infinity always gives me vertigo” ~ Mystery, by Bruce Cockburn. I think you’ve inspired me to post a shot tomorrow with an upward perspective.
    -Kim


Leave a Reply

